Etsy Updates List of States for Which It Will Collect Sales Tax

Since the decision by The US Supreme Court in South Dakota v. Wayfair, states have been busy revising laws trying to take advantage of the ruling.

This week, Etsy updated the list of states for which the marketplace is required to collect sales tax on behalf of sellers. The reason Etsy has to collect the tax is that these states passed so-called Marketplace Facilitator Sales Tax Laws.

These laws make marketplaces responsible for the collection of the sales tax on purchases made by buyers on the platform.

However, sellers can still be individually responsible for collecting sales tax in other states. Please see our State Sales Tax Guide for more information.

Etsy List of States and Effective Dates of Sales Tax Collection

WashingtonJanuary 1, 2018
PennsylvaniaApril 1, 2018
OklahomaAugust 1, 2018
MinnesotaOctober 1, 2018
IowaFebruary 1, 2019
ConnecticutFebruary 1, 2019
South CarolinaFebruary 1, 2019
South DakotaMarch 1, 2019
New JerseyApril 1, 2019
District of ColumbiaApril 1, 2019
AlabamaJuly 1, 2019

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

We do not sell your information.
You can unsubscribe at any time.


Head over to our Facebook Group for Small Business Marketplace Sellers and interact with us and other small business owners. Follow us on FacebookTwitter, or LinkedIn to stay up to date with relevant news and business insights for your online business.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *